Complete List of the Twins 2016 Diamond Awards

Last night, in the eve of Twinsfest, the Minnesota Twins announced the 2016 Diamond Awards for the 2015 season.  The recipients were:

Calvin R. Griffith Award - Twins' MVP: Miguel Sano
Bill Boni Award - Twins' Most Outstanding Rookie: Miguel Sano
Bob Allison Award - Twins' player who exemplifies determination, hustle, tenacity, competitive spirit and leadership both on and off the field: Torii Hunter
Mike Augustin "Media Good Guy" Award: Torii Hunter
Joseph W. Haynes Award - Twins' Pitcher of the Year: Kyle Gibson
Jim Kaat Award- Twins' Defensive Player of the Year: Eddie Rosario
Charles O. Johnson Award- Twins' Most Improved Player: Aaron Hicks
Dick Siebert Award - Upper Midwest Player of the Year: Tony Watson (Pirates)
Carl R. Pohlad Community Service Award: Brian Dozier
Sherry Robertson Award - Twins' Minor League Player of the Year:  Max Kepler
Jim Rantz Award  - Twins' Minor League Pitcher of the Year: Jose Berrios
Herb Carneal- Lifetime Achievement Award: Tom Kelly
Kirby Puckett - Alumni Community Service Award: Julio Becquer (Oldest living former Major Leaguer at 100 years old; broke in the majors with the Senators in 1955)


The Twins just gave fans a great reason to watch home games on Fridays

The Minnesota Twins today announced new Red alternate home jerseys and caps that will be worn on every Friday at  Target Field.   Long overdue, really sharp red uniforms, are much better than the 1997 single year Red Alternate uniform that was identical to the co-existing then Blue Alternate in a different color.

Here is what the New Uniforms will look like, from the Twins' official website.

And here is the Twins' official video with Paul Molitor and Joe Mauer wearing them.

The website shows a totally red hat, but in the video, the hat has a blue bill.  We shall see the final version of the hat soon. 

The hope is that Starting Pitchers will opt for this uniform more days than Fridays over the regular home tidy whities...